vegan energy bars

So, if you didn’t know, I still live at home with my parents. I am slowly saving up for an apartment but it will take a bit to get there, which is okay because I don’t mind living at home! I like having the company of my parents when we’re all up early and getting ready for work. Sure- there are certain difficulties that come with being 22 and living at home but there are also lots of advantages (like free, folded wash.) Over the years, I’ve learned that my dad can’t have lots of sugar or he gets a headache. My mom looks for snacks to make that are healthy and delicious, with little to no sugar. Kind of a difficult challenge…

img_4045img_4050img_4048

I figured I would give these a chance because I am always running late for work and am throwing together breakfast and a few snacks for work before flying out the door. With these already in the fridge, it’s easy to grab them + go… and be way more organized about it. Plus, my dad can have these! There is no sugar, it’s vegan, and it’s packed with healthy ingredients.

A huge part of being healthy is not dieting. It’s creating a lifestyle of eating healthy and working out that you enjoy. Dieting strictly and killing yourself in the gym only works for so long. Finding healthy foods that you love and workouts you actually enjoy is the key.

img_4071img_4075

Today, I actually went to my aunt’s indoor pool and swam laps. I was on a competitive swim team growing up and I loved it. I swam a few days a week (plus meets) and I haven’t gotten into a pool and swam laps since I stopped about 8 years ago.

img_4088img_4095

So, I actually found a workout that I love (and that I really missed!) I ran to the car with my jacket zipped up and my wet hair dripping. I am someone who does not do well in cold weather so wet hair + 40° = Nope. I blasted the heat on my way back to my house.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups oats
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/4 cups peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup (I used sugar free)
  • 1/4 cup almonds
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp water
  • handful of raisins
  • 1 banana

Directions:

  • Pour the dry ingredients into a blender. Then add in the PB, maple syrup, raisins, and banana. If the ingredients look too dry, add in tablespoons of water until the dough is sticky.
  • Using a spatula, scoop out the dough onto a rectangle baking sheet and chill overnight. Cut up the bars with a pizza dough cutter and eat as many as you want.

2 Comments

Leave a comment